Archive for September 23rd, 2011

Miller in Mid-Season form in 2-1 Win over Maple Leafs

The Sabres remained undefeated in the preseason thanks to in large part Ryan Miller. Miller looked like he was ready for the season with a stellar performance making many huge saves to preserve the Sabres 2-1 victory. The Sabres got on the Board first when Corey Tropp capitalized on a Keith Aulie turnover in the Maple Leafs zone 7:15 into the game. The Sabres dominated the first period outshooting the Leafs 12-7. The Leafs would get on the Board early in the 2nd Period on a Phil Kessel Marker. In a reversal of the first period the Leafs dominated the 2nd period outshooting the Sabres 15-4. Jason Pominville would put the Sabres up for good scoring his 2nd goal of the Pre-Season with a little over 7:30 minutes left in the game. Miller stopped 33 of 34 shots that the Leafs fired at him. James Reimer who got the start for the Leafs made 31 Saves. The only bad note on the night for the Sabres is Derek Roy leaving the game after the first period. Coach Lindy Ruff said that he has a mild shoulder injury and won’t miss significant time.

The Sabres return to Home-Ice to more night when they play the Maple Leafs at 7:00 from the First Niagara Center.


Sabres begin their busy weekend with a trip to Toronto

The Sabres begin their busiest weekend of the preseason playing the first of 3 games in 3 nights tonight against the Toronto Maple Leafs at 7:00 PM. Ryan Miller is expected to get the start and play the full game. Former Sabre Tim Connolly will be in the lineup for the Maple Leafs. Game can be seen on MSG HD and NHLN-US HD for people outside of the buffalo market.

Sabres Line-Up:


Thomas Vanek-Derek Roy-Jason Pominville

Nathan Gerbe-Paul Gaustad-Patrick Kaleta

Colin Stuart-Cody McCormick-Brad Boyes

Michael Ryan-Matt Ellis-Corey Tropp


Jordan Leopold-Christian Ehrhoff

Brayden McNabb-Mike Weber

Marc-Andre Gragnani-T.J. Brennan


Ryan Miller

Drew MacIntyre

Maple Leafs Lines:

Joffrey Lupul-Tim Connolly-Phil Kessel

Clarke MacArthur-Mikhail Grabovski-Nikolai Kulemin

Nazem Kadri-Darryl Boyce-Matt Frattin

Joey Crabb-Mike Zigomanis-Colton Orr


Keith Aulie-Dion Phaneuf

Carl Gunnarson-John Michael Liles

Cody Franson-Jake Gardiner


James Riemer

Ben Scrivens

Powered by WordPress | Free Best Free WordPress Themes | Thanks to WordPress Themes Free, WordPress Themes and Themes Directory